hgkwiatek

life in bedlam

Do I Strike You As Trailer Park Material?

I’ve often said my ideal set up would be this: A small “farmette” just outside of Bethlehem, a pied-a-terre in NY (really a tiny shoebox will do, 300 – 500 sq ft even), and shack at the ocean. I really don’t think this is too much to ask!

A place at the ocean seems so out of reach, but recently I stumbled on listings for mobile homes in communities about two miles from the Delaware beaches, including Rehoboth, which I love. The Outer Banks of North Carolina are my favorite beaches, but too far to visit often enough to make ownership worthwhile.

Behold, a 3 BR, 1 BA shack at the ocean for $5,000:

It needs some work inside. You have to pay rent on the lot, about $500/month. But that’s a heck of a lot less than a mortgage on an actual beach house. And the community has a pool and a fitness center. It’s about 2 miles to the beach, which is 172 miles closer than I am now.

So, what do you think? Am I mobile home material? Is this insane? Do they have trailer parks in Manhattan?

 

3 comments on “Do I Strike You As Trailer Park Material?

  1. Simon Jessey
    June 5, 2012

    I’d rather pay more and visit the Outer Banks all the time.

  2. hgkwiatek
    June 5, 2012

    OBX has been our family’s beach destination since the 1970s, trust me, I adore it (I’ll be there in July) But OBX is an 8-hour drive from my home. Not a weekend jaunt. Rehoboth is 175 miles.

  3. Simon Jessey
    June 5, 2012

    Rehoboth is nice for the hustle and bustle, but I find the Outer Banks (particularly the areas south of Pea Island) to be the superior beach experience. It’s 8 hours for me too. You must drive really fast LOL.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2012 by in Rehoboth and tagged , .

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

